Holy Cross Convent School Brooklyn


About our School


The Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Cross is a Swiss Congregation founded in Switzerland. The South African Province of the Congregation was founded from the General Motherhouse in Switzerland in 1883. This was the first time that a Catholic religious congregation had embarked upon missionary activity outside the confines of Europe.


Our school was founded in 1959. It started with one class in a small room attached to the local parish church. Holy Cross Sister Philomena Burgess was the first teacher & principal. With time Father Ward’s double garage was turned into a second classroom.


Later that year a large portion of the school was built.  Mr Peter Steensma recalls the late Father Ward saying, while holding the plans for the school, “ Peter, let’s build a school.” On the 3rd of April 1960, Archbishop Owen McCann blessed the school and Holy Mass was introduced that same decade. On the 21st May 1960, a new telephone was installed and by the 18 July that same year. Sister Kostka was appointed as the Sub B teacher. In October 1961 the first group of pupils had their First Holy Communion. Today 3 Sisters from Ireland are still involved in the school: Sr Francis, Sr Agatha, & Sr Eileen.


Religious Education and faith sharing is a vital part of the life and outreach of the whole school. Religious Education is taught by the teachers and by the Sisters. The weekly school-mass at Our Lady of the Assumption with parish priest Fr Stanley Botha, helps to enrich the children's spirituality.



Mini-Cricket, Senior Cricket, Mini-Netball, Netball, Ball Skills, Soccer, Movement, Drama, Arts and Crafts, Music, Individual instrument classes for recorder, guitar, piano and violin.

Contact Information 


Principal: Carol Du Plessis


Phone: 021 511 4337

Fax: 021 511 9690

Email: admin@holycrossbrooklyn.co.za

Website: www.holycrossbrooklyn.co.za

Physical address: 162 Koeberg Road Brooklyn

Postal address: 162 Koeberg Road Brooklyn 7405


Grades: Grade 0 - 7

Enrolment: Co-ed

Aftercare: Yes - Preschool

Boarding: No


Postal and Street Address

4 Clare Road



Telephone:  +27 (0)21 761 6541

Contact Us

Fax: +27 (0)86730 4954 

Owners Links

The Cape Town Catholic Schools’ Office serves 38 schools in the Archdiocese of Cape Town as well as the Diocese of Oudtshoorn. Our network is comprised of a variety of different types of schools.  The vast majority of our schools are primary public schools on private property (PSPP’s).  We also have six secondary schools, a number of independent schools and schools that cater for children with disabilities. 

About Us


Back to Top