st. raphael's rc primary school
St Raphael’s school was established in 1929, when Father James Kelly was responsible for the area from Rondebosch (St.Michael’s) and the area along Klipfontein Road. In his parish he had three schools, the Convent High School, St .Michael’s Public School and St Raphael’s, which was then known as the so-called “Mission School for coloured children” and was called St .Raphael’s .These schools were all run by the Irish Dominican Nuns . St Raphael’s was built on land bought by Bishop Rooney in 1914, and the school was built by the Salesian Fathers. Fr Marcellus, O.F.M described the original building as “ a schoolroom –four walls and a roof –and precious little else”.
The school started as a multi-racial school with 160 learners and piece by piece the school building was extended to accommodate the growing numbers. The Capuchins became involved in the running of the school and appealed to the Holy Cross sisters for help. In 1931 the Holy Cross sisters came to Athlone to teach whilst the property was maintained by the Capuchin Friars.
The school still serves its original purpose to serve the people of the Cape Flats and the motto of the Holy Cross Sisters “In Cruce Salus” (There is Salvation in the Cross), still guides the school community.
Our school aims to educate pupils in the Catholic tradition and to live our school motto. We are dedicated to providing an opportunity for every pupil to develop his / her full potential in a learning environment which is disciplined yet happy one. Our teachers are committed to these aims and though their continued professional growth, exemplify excellence in teaching. All this is accomplished while harnessing the rich cultural heritage of the St.Raphael’s community.
81 Lawrence Road